AUTO RACING: NASCAR Heads To Georgia; F1 heads to Austria


All Eastern Times


Quaker State 400 presented by Walmart


Site: Hampton, Ga.

Schedule: Saturday, classification, 11:35 am; Sunday, race, 3pm (USA).

Track: Atlanta Motor Speedway.

Race distance: 260 laps, 400 miles.

Last year: Kurt Busch won after starting eighth.

Last Race: Tyler Reddick edged out Chase Elliott to win at Road America for his first win in NASCAR’s premier series.

Fast facts: Reddick became the 13th different race winner in 18 events and the fifth winner for the first time this season. … His victory made 2014 series champion Kevin Harvick, the fourth-ranked non-winner in the standings, the first driver not to make the 16-driver playoffs if the standings remain the same for the last eight races of the regular season. . … Elliott widened his points lead to 33 over Ryan Blaney and 35 over Ross Chastain. … Blaney, Martin Truex Jr. and Christopher Bell are the non-winners in the top 16.

Next race: July 17, Loudon, New Hampshire.



Alsco 250 Uniforms

Site: Hampton, Ga.

Schedule: Saturday, qualifying, 10:05 a.m., and race, 5:00 p.m. (USA).

Track: Atlanta Motor Speedway.

Race distance: 163 laps, 251 miles.

Last year: Kyle Busch won from pole position.

Last race: Ty Gibbs passed Kyle Larson on the final lap of overtime at Road America and won for a series-best fourth time this season.

Fast facts: Gibbs cut his 25-point deficit to nine behind point leader AJ Allmendinger. Justin Allgaier is third, 34 points behind. … Gibbs has won four times in 16 races this season and eight times in 34 races in his career; no other driver has won more than twice this season. … Allmendinger posted his 14th top-10 finish of the season. Fourth place Noah Gragson is next with 11.

Next race: July 16, Loudon, New Hampshire.



O’Reilly Ato Parts 150 in Mid-Ohio

Site: Lexington, Ohio.

Hours: Friday, practice, 9:35 am and qualifying, 3:35 pm; Saturday, race, 13:30 (FS1).

Track: Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course.

Race distance: 67 laps, 151 miles.

Last year: First time at this place.

Last race: Ryan Preece pulled away on a restart with 10 laps to go, then overcame challenges from Zane Smith and Carson Hocevar to win at Nashville for the second year in a row.

Fast facts: Preece’s two wins have come in just eight career starts. … Zane Smith is the new points leader by 21 points over John Hunter Nemechek and 30 over defending series champion Ben Rhodes. … Smith also leads with eight top fives, 12 top 10s and 339 laps led. … The top five in the standings are the only series regulars to have won races this season.

Next race: July 23, Long Pond, Pennsylvania.



Austrian Grand Prix

Site: Spielberg, Austria.

Hours: Friday, practice, 7:30 am and qualifying, 11 am; Saturday, practice, 6:30 a.m., and sprint, 10:30 a.m.; Sunday, race, 9 am (ESPN).

Track: Red Bull Ring.

Race distance: 71 laps, 190.42 miles.

Last year: Max Verstappen won on consecutive weekends, both times from pole position.

Last race: Carlos Sainz Jr. won the British Grand Prix, the first win of his Formula One career, when a late tire change allowed him to pull away.

Fast facts: Sainz’s win came on his 150th F1 start. … he became the fourth different winner in 10 races, with points leader Verstappen winning six times. … Seven-time series champion Lewis Hamilton led laps for the first time this season and finished third, just his third podium finish of the season. … Verstappen, who finished seventh after an engine problem, leads Sergio Pérez by 34 points and Charles LeClerc by 43.

Next race: July 24, Le Castellet, France.



Last race: Scott McLaughlin won for the second time in his career, both times this season, beating defending series champion Alex Palou at Mid-Ohio.

Next race: July 17, Toronto, Canada.



Last Event: Mike Salinas won Top Fuel and Robert Hight won Funny Car at Norwalk, Ohio.

Next event: July 15-17, Morrison, Colorado.



Upcoming events: July 8, West Burlington, Iowa, and July 9, Wilmot, Wisconsin.



More AP auto racing: and